P(r)esto!

So I have a full-time job, I train almost everyday of the week for endurance running, I cook most of our dinners, walk our dogs with my husband when I get home in the evenings, yada yada yada. So by the time I get to my blog updates, it’s usually around 8:30 or 9 p.m. And really, there’s no pressure.

Um, that kinda changed today? Because, like magic, my site hits have skyrocketed, and I know it’s because most of you are here to read about my experience at the fantastic River and Rail. So I kinda feel like I should welcome you guys. I’m not the best hostess, so you’re just going to have to make yourselves at home and get whatever you want out of the fridge. Also, we don’t keep sodas or juices or anything like that on hand, so if you can’t make do with water, milk, wine, or beer, you’re going to have to run to the store to pick up your preferred beverage.

Now that we’re all acquainted: Seriously. Thanks for dropping by, and I hope you keep coming back. The down and dirty of this blog is that I’m one of those dreaded locavores (except when I’m a guest at someone’s house, because I can’t be that big of a bitch, and especially when I’m at my grandmothers’ houses, because that’s just not cool). We use local, whole foods to the extent possible around here; very little is processed. As such, we eat pretty seasonally. This is kind of my creative outlet to share how we go about eating, training (my husband does triathlons, both sprint and distance), etc. Nothing groundbreaking, but it’s my little way of hopefully getting you to see that eating locally, eating healthy, is not some big undertaking. Or solely belonging to the hipster domain.

There’s no way I’m going to top my last post. Plus? For the second time in, say, 19 months of training, I had to run 5 miles on the treadmill. And if there’s a better way to simulate being drunk and nauseous, I don’t know what it is. It’s miserable, and my brain can’t process much as a result. So, I’m going with easy today. And that means pesto.

I’m not sure why I don’t make pesto more than I do. Greens? Good. Nuts? Good. Garlic? GOOD. Truth told, I was inspired by our trip to River and Rail to put pesto into heavy rotation at home. Traditional pesto bases usually include basil and pine nuts. I had neither, but I did have chard that was begging to be used and some walnuts. So, there you go. If you don’t have chard or walnuts, just play around with this using other hearty greens (not lettuce, do not try lettuce), herbs, and nuts. It’s kinda foolproof, and it’s great on meat, fish, roasted veggies, a potato/egg/tomato/roasted red pepper bowl I’ve become obsessed with after runs… It’s versatile, so make a cup or so of it and literally spread it all around.

The pesto is hiding on the roasted tomatoes.

Pesto in a Pinch
(Note: You can add 1/4 c. or so of freshly grated Parmesan or a similar hard cheese if you want.)
1 to 1.5 c. torn chard (or basil, spinach, even carrot top greens)
1/4 c. walnuts (or whatever nut you feel like trying out), roughly chopped
3 garlic cloves, peeled and smashed
Olive oil
Salt

Throw the chard, nuts, and garlic cloves into a food processor and pulse until finely chopped. Pulse in enough olive oil to bind the ingredients (you don’t want this to be a stiff paste, let’s say that). Season with salt.

Leave a Reply

