Duck, duck…FAT!

In this tub? Glorious duck fat.

You guys, while I’m knocking out posts covering my cooking/baking spree this weekend, can we talk about duck fat for a minute? Because it. Is. GLORIOUS. I know duck, particularly foie gras, has been catching a lot of attention in the culinary world. I’ve never had foie gras, I admit, so I won’t add my two cents about its possible ban. (But really? Really?! Do you know what’s in grocery store meat? Do you think it’s actually healthy to fatten cows with grain? Seriously? Those ducks raised for foie gras are raised better than anything that’s behind those glass counters at your local grocery store. Okay, maybe I won’t keep my mouth shut.)

Anyway, I may never have had foie gras, but I have had duck. And it’s, god, it’s just the best. I love pork, I like chicken, I eat red meat, but duck? It’s something else entirely. When done right, it’s melt-in-your-mouth sinful. And most of that is due to its high fat content. One day soon I’ll do a post about roasted duck, but for now, it’s duck fat. I picked up a tub of it at Two Boroughs Larder during our last trip to Charleston, and I now use it when roasting potatoes, among other things. It imparts a wonderful flavor, though it’s not overwhelming. Scooped out by the tablespoon, it looks like an even more decadent, fat-filled version of ice cream. And yeah, that’s because it’s pure, unadulterated fat.

Now, I don’t advocate smothering everything in animal fat, but a tablespoon or two here and there is a great treat and acts as a flavor enhancer, especially when roasting. Also? If you add the fat to a roasting pan and pop it in the oven as the oven heats up, the fat will melt, which further prevents your veggies from sticking to the pan as they roast.

I had some adirondack blue potatoes in the pantry from a recent farmers market trip (and I really do prefer this kind of potato; not only are they visually appealing but adirondacks contain increased levels of anthocyanins, pigments that act as powerful antioxidants [think blueberries]).

So, I sliced the potatoes, a red onion, and tossed them in the pan with the melted duck fat, seasoning with salt and pepper. Just roast at 400 degrees for 40 minutes, stirring halfway through.

If you’ve tried duck fat and have some great suggestions for additional usage, let me know!

3 thoughts on “Duck, duck…FAT!

  1. Pingback: A Night at River and Rail | saltysweetme

  2. Pingback: Thighs ‘n Veggies | saltysweetme

  3. Pingback: The Great Cornbread Debate, Part II (Electric Boogaloo) | saltysweetme

Leave a Reply

